Cycling in 2011

Posted on February 5, 2011 by

0


The Christchurch City Council have released the 2011 Christchurch City Cycling Guide and I have to say I’m quite impressed!

Information provided includes tips for keeping safe, how to use bike lanes, a network map of cycle routes across the city (including a Central City enlargement), how to use bus lanes while biking, a list of Metro bus routes which carry bikes, safe bike parking locations in the Central City, and plenty more.

One thing I notice is a lack of dedicated routes in the western suburbs (in an arc from Burnside, through Avonhead to Sockburn) which seems a mystery or could reflect a lack of suitable infrastructure.

Being honest, I think if cycling was brought under the Metro banner (even if just for marketing purposes and remained fully in Council control) it would do a great deal for the promotion of cycling in the city. In particular, it would put this brochure in more accessible places. Basically, I would really like to see this promoted well, and I think that promoting it through the Metro brand would be a good way to do it, and is what other cities have done (for example, ‘Maxx’ in Auckland).

